SEARCH

Festival Musiques Volantes 22 – Video Mapping: WARPING THE WOODS

Together with the live video artist A-LI-CE I was invited to create a video mapping for the music festival MUSIQUES VOLANTES 22 in Metz (France).
In the courtyard of the urban festival building, we let sprawl a wild and mysterious forest, while its inhabitants of hybrid creatures being suspiciously eyed by dark silhouettes behind the windows until an unstoppable storm is brewing inside the building.

The video mapping consists of two parts – an unobtrusive but playfully eerie video installation and a 15-minute live act once per evening.

For the visual part, A-LI-CE worked mainly with handmade drawings and paper collages, which she digitized, animated and added effects in the post-production. I tried to keep this analog feeling and the workflow in the music as well.
While the sound for the video installation is limited to atmos of a fabulous and eerie forest, the music of the live act reminds of film scores for science fiction and horror movies of the late 50s and 60s with a sound design that uses typical clichés of film noir. Starting with vintage and orchestra, the music becomes more and more electronic during the show until it finally breaks up into (ar)rythmical samples and fades away with a loud bang in the showdown.

Further thanks to Lisa Studer, Zeze Mago and the entire team of Musiques Volantes as well as Tina Ayvaski, Christian Möltner and Joachim Reck from the Berlin-based technology company EIDOTECH for their great support in the technical planning!


Images:


The music:

The music is based on BERNARD HERRMANN’s score for the first episode “Where is everybody” of the series THE TWILIGHT ZONE. At this point I would like to advertise the homepage Film Score Rundowns, where I found the notes and would like to say a big thank you – in an unknown way – to its creator Bill Wrobel for his meticulous research work in old film scores.

To be able to change the mood of the performance very quickly, I composed the music in the scale of Olivier Messiaen’s 2nd mode. Here are two JPGs with a table of the used chords and its connections. Maybe somebody of you can use it for another project … it was too much work to let it get mouldy in my drawer.


Video report of the whole festival:

For this post, the comments are closed.

SEARCH

Festival Musiques Volantes 22 – Video Mapping: WARPING THE WOODS

Zusammen mit der Live-Video-Künstlerin A-LI-CE wurde ich eingeladen, ein Video-Mapping für das Musikfestival MUSIQUES VOLANTES 22 in Metz (Frankreich) zu konzipieren.
Im Innenhof des urbanen Festivalgebäudes ließen wir einen wilden und geheimnisvollen Wald wuchern, dessen Bewohner*innen von dunklen Silhuetten hinter den Fenstern misstrauisch beäugt werden bis sich im Inneren des Gebäudes ein unaufhaltsames Unwetter zusammenbraut.

Das Video-Mapping besteht aus zwei Teilen – einer unaufdringlichen, aber spielerisch unheimlichen Videoinstallation sowie einem 15-minütigen Live-Act einmal pro Abend.

A-LI-CE arbeitete für den visuellen Teil hauptsächlich mit handgemachten Zeichnungen und Papiercollagen, die sie in der Postproduktion digitalisierte, animierte und mit Effekten versah. Ich versuchte dieses analoge Gefühl und den Arbeitsablauf auch in der Musik beizubehalten.
Während sich der Sound für die Videoinstallation auf Atmos eines märchenhaften und unheimlichen Waldes beschränkt, erinnert die Musik des Live-Acts an Partituren für Science-Fiction und Horrorfilmen der späten 50er und 60er Jahre mit einem Sounddesign, das sich typischer Klischees des Film Noirs bedient. Beginnend mit Vintage und Orchester, wird die Musik im Laufe der Show immer elektronischer bis sie schließlich in (ar)rythmische Samples zerfällt und im Showdown mit einem lauten Schlag verhallt.

Danke an Lisa Studer, Zeze Mago und dem gesamten Team von Musiques Volantes sowie Tina Ayvaski, Christian Möltner und Joachim Reck von der Berliner Technikfirma EIDOTECH für Ihre großartige Unterstützung in der Technikplanung!


Bilder:


Die Musik:

Die Musik ist angelehnt an BERNARD HERRMANNs Partitur für die erste Folge “Where is everybody” der Serie THE TWILIGHT ZONE. An dieser Stelle mal die Werbetrommel gerührt für die Homepage Film Score Rundowns, wo ich die Noten gefunden habe und ein großes Dankeschön – unbekannter Weise – an deren Macher Bill Wrobel für seine akribische Recherchearbeit die Partituren alter Filme zu archivieren.

Um die Stimmung der Performance sehr schnell ändern zu können, komponierte ich die Musik im zweiten Modus von Olivier Messiaen. Hier sind zwei JPGs mit einer Tabelle der verwendeten Akkorde und ihrer Verbindungen. Vielleicht kann sie jemand für ein anderes Projekt verwenden … es war zu viel Arbeit, um sie einfach in meiner Schublade verschwinden zu lassen.


Videodokumentation des Festivals:

For this post, the comments are closed.